California Historical Society Gala

Thursday, May 9, 2019 6:00PM

Tickets are now Sold Out

The Old U.S. Mint | 88 Fifth Street, San Francisco

Featuring the Honorable Edmund G. Brown Jr., the 34th & 39th Governor of California In Conversation with Professor Bill Deverell, Ph.D., Director, Huntington-USC Institute on California and the West

The California Historical Society honors the historic contributions of Governor Edmund G. Brown and celebrates 40 years as the state’s official historical society.

On May 9, 1979, Governor Brown signed SB 63 by Senator Jim Mills, designating CHS as the state’s official historical society. In recent years, CHS has embarked on ambitious new projects, including partnering with the City and County of San Francisco to restore the Old U.S. Mint as the organization’s future home, and the creation of Teaching California, a free, online portal to curriculum and instructional resources supporting the K-12 California history instruction. Proceeds from the evening will support the California Historical Society’s public history programming in San Francisco and throughout California.

Led by Honorary Co-Chairs Secretary George P. Shultz and Charlotte M. Shultz, this benefit event will take place on Thursday, May 9, 2019 at the Old U.S. Mint, 88 Fifth Street, San Francisco.

Reception at six o'clock
Dinner at seven thirty
Cocktail Attire
Valet Parking Provided

Honorary Committee:
The Honorable George P. and Charlotte M. Shultz, Co-Chairs
Mayor London Breed
The Honorable Dianne Feinstein and Richard C. Blum
Assemblymember John Laird
State Librarian Greg Lucas
State Historic Preservation Officer Julianne Polanco
Assembly Speaker Anthony Rendon
Chairman Greg Sarris
Mayor Libby Schaaf

Host Committee:
Wallis Annenberg
Linda Elliott
Anthea M. Hartig, Ph.D.
David Kennedy and Patricia Santa Cruz
Ken McNeely
Miriam Pawel
Michael J. Sangiacomo
Glenn Snyder and Catherine Allman
Diane B. Wilsey
Ralph Walter and Dorothly Fleisher

Gubernatorial Sponsor:
Tribal Council of the Federated Indians of Graton Rancheria

Attorney General Sponsors:
Diane B. Wilsey
Wallis Annenberg Foundation

Mayoral Sponsors:
Anthea M. Hartig and Family

Chairman Sponsors:

Steve and Barbara Hearst
William Hearst
Nion McEvoy and Leslie Berriman
Sam and Colleen Nunn
Roselyne Chroman Swig
Hafner Vineyards
Fort Point Beer